logo Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
August 17, 2017, 05:22:32 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
 News: Self-Registration temporarily suspended due to abuse.To Register as a member, please email to webmaster@triplc.com with your email and username.

  Internet PLC Forum
  General
  Technical support
(Moderator: support)
  Using the PLC to control a bus...
? previous next ?
Pages: [1] Go Down Reply Notify of replies Send the topic Print
   Author  Topic: Using the PLC to control a bus...  (Read 14236 times)
drodio
Newbie
*

Posts: 1



I'm a llama!

View Profile
Using the PLC to control a bus...
« on: March 06, 2004, 02:40:57 AM »
Reply with quote

Here is a project I need some help on:

I have a motorcoach I'm converting into a home (you can view pics at www.WonderlandBus.com).

I want to use a PLC to control many functions of the bus.  For example, I want to be able to press a button on a touchscreen and have the door to the bus open.

I have been planning on using the T100MD888+ PLC (any comments on that choice?) because my tech guy is familiar with ladder logic and that PLC seems easy for him to program in ladder logic.

From what I see, Tri-Logic's PLC can interact with the touchscreen via a java applet.  Has anyone done this?  I don't really understand exactly how to hook the PLC into the touchscreen using java.  Ideally the applet would be running on the touchscreen, and when a button is pressed on the applet, it would send some sort of signal to the Tri-Logic to run the ladder logic necessary to open the door.

Am i going in the right general direction with this?  Does anyone have any comments?  I could really use some guidance.  - DROdio.
Report to moderator   Logged
Will Steed
Guest

E-Mail
Re:Using the PLC to control a bus...
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2004, 09:09:17 PM »
Reply with quote

Interesting project, take a look at the following webpage.
http://www.dcitech.com/coach/default.htm

Its from a Triangle Research dealer in Calgary Alberta Canada.  They are using these PLC in automation functions on Bus Conversions.

You should find it interesting.

Will Steed
Report to moderator   Logged
Fernandz
Newbie
*

Posts: 10





View Profile
Re:Using the PLC to control a bus...
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2004, 12:17:33 AM »
Reply with quote

Well I'll give you my opinion I purchased a T100MD888 to teach myself more about PLC's. I found this PLC to be just a VERY powerful for the price. The best part for me is the Custom Function very very powerful. I plan on my PLC controlling my Air-conditioning system Via room sensors and my hot water boiler Via outdoor air reset. In short the Ladder + Basic make this a very POWERFULL PLC. Thats just my opinion
Report to moderator   Logged
corley
Newbie
*

Posts: 15





View Profile
Re:Using the PLC to control a bus...
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2004, 12:23:53 AM »
Reply with quote

This is exactly the type of thing I am doing Ya.. I love the plc it's got some nice features. I think it will do just about anything you need.

Quote from: Fernandz on March 09, 2004, 12:17:33 AM
Well I'll give you my opinion I purchased a T100MD888 to teach myself more about PLC's. I found this PLC to be just a VERY powerful for the price. The best part for me is the Custom Function very very powerful. I plan on my PLC controlling my Air-conditioning system Via room sensors and my hot water boiler Via outdoor air reset. In short the Ladder + Basic make this a very POWERFULL PLC. Thats just my opinion
Report to moderator   Logged
Chris Johnson
Guest

E-Mail
Re:Using the PLC to control a bus...
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2004, 02:36:04 PM »
Reply with quote

I have had good luck using Automation Direct touch screens.  Their touch screens will work via either com port on the 888.  No java required.
CJ
Report to moderator   Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Reply Notify of replies Send the topic Print 
? previous next ?
Jump to: 


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Internet PLC Forum | Powered by YaBB SE
© 2001-2004, YaBB SE Dev Team. All Rights Reserved.
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!